What occurs when A1 causes the ball to go out of bounds while touching a boundary line?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A1 causes the ball to go out of bounds while touching a boundary line, the action of touching the boundary line means that A1 is considered to have caused the ball to be out of bounds. According to basketball rules, a ball is considered out of bounds when it touches any part of the out-of-bounds area, which includes the boundary lines themselves.

Since the player A1 is involved with the ball at the time it goes out of bounds, their interaction is what determines the ball's status. This is important in understanding the flow of the game and the rules governing ball possession. In this situation, since A1 caused the ball to be out of bounds, the play will result in a turnover, allowing the opposing team to gain possession.

The other options do not align with the rules regarding boundary lines and the ball's status, as they either incorrectly state that the ball remains in play or imply penalties that are not relevant to the situation. Understanding this concept is crucial for players and officials to ensure correct game management.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy