What occurs if a dribbler catches the ball with one or both hands?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a dribbler catches the ball with one or both hands, the play continues as long as the player is in a legal position and hasn’t committed any violations while doing so. The act of catching the ball does not automatically result in a stoppage of play; the dribbler can then choose to either pass, shoot, or begin another dribble if they maintain their dribbling status before catching it.

As for the other options, a traveling violation is called only if the player takes additional steps without dribbling after they have caught the ball. The ball does not become dead by merely catching it, unless play is interrupted for another reason. Additionally, a foul is not called unless specific illegal contact occurs, which is unrelated to the action of merely catching the ball while dribbling. Thus, the correct answer highlights that play continues under these circumstances.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy