What happens if A1 causes the ball to go out of bounds by touching B1 before going out?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A1 touches B1 and then causes the ball to go out of bounds, the specific action taken follows the principle that a player’s actions can determine the fate of the ball. Since A1 made contact with B1 before the ball went out of bounds, it is deemed that A1’s failure to maintain control of the ball while in contact with B1 contributed to the situation.

This means that the ball is considered to have been caused to go out of bounds by A1's action (the touch on B1), which is significant because it directly links A1's contact with B1 to the out-of-bounds situation. In effect, this results in a turnover with implications on possession, as the next inbound will occur out of bounds.

The other options suggest differing consequences that do not align with the rules governing player contact and how possession is established following an out-of-bounds situation caused by a player's actions.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy