Must both free throws awarded for a single technical foul be attempted by the same player?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In NFHS basketball, when a technical foul is called, the team that had the foul committed against them is awarded two free throws. Importantly, these two free throws do not have to be attempted by the same player; any player on the team may take them. This flexibility allows the coach to choose the player who they believe is most likely to make the shots or to rotate players to give them experience and practice at the free throw line.

The rule is designed to provide strategic options for the team without binding them to a single player for those free throws. As such, the answer is that it is false that both free throws must be attempted by the same player.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy