Is it true or false that an alternating-possession procedure occurs after the ball touches the backboard support?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The statement is false because an alternating-possession procedure does not occur simply because the ball touches the backboard support. According to NFHS basketball rules, the alternating-possession arrow is utilized primarily in situations where a held ball occurs, which typically arises when two players from opposing teams have simultaneous possession of the ball. The act of the ball touching the backboard support does not trigger an alternating-possession scenario, as the possession arrow is reserved for specific conditions, such as jump balls or when the ball becomes lodged in the backboard or other apparatus. The incorrect options either suggest conditions that do not relate to the initial question or imply scenarios where an alternating-possession might be implemented, but those do not apply to this particular situation regarding the backboard support.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy