Is A1 allowed to receive a pass and attempt a throw-in if they go out of bounds during a throw-in?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The scenario presented relates to rules governing player actions during a throw-in situation in basketball. When A1 goes out of bounds while attempting a throw-in, the fundamental rule allows them to receive a pass and continue with their play without any penalties being assessed. This is because the player is already in the act of re-entering the game after a stoppage of play, and their position does not affect the legality of receiving a pass.

In this context, it's distinguished from other situations where a player might leave the court during ongoing play, which could incur a violation or turnover. The allowance for A1 to receive a pass and attempt to make a play reinforces the importance of ensuring the game flows smoothly and allows players to participate actively even after going out of bounds for a throw-in scenario.

Understanding this aspect of the rules helps clarify the conditions under which players operate during different situations on the court, particularly during a throw-in, ensuring they can effectively re-enter the play and contribute without facing undue penalties.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy