Is a player who extends a body part into the path of an opponent considered to maintain a legal position?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

A player extending a body part into an opponent’s path is not maintaining a legal position, regardless of whether contact occurs. In basketball, a legal position is defined as having both feet on the floor and facing the opponent, allowing the defender to establish their right to the space they occupy. Extending a body part into the path of an opponent typically constitutes a defensive foul, as it can impede the opponent's movement, even if no actual contact is made.

This principle helps ensure player safety and the flow of the game, as it discourages players from creating obstacles that could lead to collisions or injuries. Therefore, if the player is actively trying to interfere with the opponent's progression by extending a body part, it is deemed an illegal position.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy