If tapper A1 catches the referee's toss during the initial jump ball, which team gains the first possession?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the context of basketball rules, when A1 catches the referee's toss during the initial jump ball, it indicates that Team A has successfully gained control of the jump ball. However, according to NFHS basketball rules, the team that taps the ball (which is Team A in this instance) does not automatically gain possession in subsequent possessions.

This means that while A1 catching the tossed ball counts as a successful tap for Team A, it is actually Team B that retains the first possession since the rule states that the team which taps the ball shall not gain the first possession after the jump. Instead, the possession arrow is utilized to determine which team receives the first possession after the initial jump, which is often set to indicate possession for Team B once the jump ball has concluded.

As a result, while it may initially seem that Team A has an advantage for catching the ball, the rules stipulate that Team B technically gains the first possession due to the parameters surrounding the initial jump ball situation and subsequent possession.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy