If B1 deflects A1's throw-in pass and it touches A1 while they are out of bounds, what is the ruling?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this scenario, if B1 deflects A1's throw-in pass and the ball then touches A1 while they are out of bounds, the correct ruling is that Team A retains possession of the ball. According to NFHS basketball rules, when a player is executing a throw-in, they may be in a position to receive the ball even after it has been deflected by the opposing team.

Since A1 was out of bounds when touched by the ball, the rules specify that the throw-in is still considered valid as long as no rule violations have occurred. Team A is entitled to continue the play without any penalty because the incident does not constitute a turnover or violation. Therefore, Team A is awarded the ball, and the correct understanding of the situation leads to this ruling.

Other options suggest that the play would result in a turnover or a redo of the throw-in, which is not applicable because the fundamental rules governing possession during a throw-in confirm that Team A maintains the ball following a deflection by Team B, especially in this situation where A1 did not violate any out-of-bounds rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy