Does continuous motion apply if a teammate commits a foul after a player has started a try for a goal?

Study for the NFHS Basketball Rules Exam. Dive into flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate commits a foul after a player has started a try for a goal. The rationale behind this is that the concept of continuous motion is intended to apply to the actions of the shooter during their attempt to score. Once a foul occurs, particularly by a teammate, it interrupts this process, and thus the rules surrounding continuous motion no longer hold. In essence, if a foul is committed after the shooting motion has begun, it alters the situation and negates the benefits that continuous motion would otherwise provide to the player making the shot.

The other choices reflect scenarios that either misinterpret the application of continuous motion or refine the conditions under which it operates, but in the case of a foul occurring after the shot has started, the correct understanding is that continuous motion does not apply.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy